Americas Home Place Reviews

Show reviews that mention
home house office ahp construction people building manager experience money
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
Americas Home Place - Dream House is more like a Nightmare with America's Home Place!
AHP is wonderful at first. The office managed even took me out for beers and to discuss the house. All of that congeniality changed when we actually begin to question why the work on your house isn't being done properly, or why items that you've paid for in the...
View full review
View full review
24 comments
#2037850

I could not agree more.

View more comments
ID
#567162 Review #567162 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Service
Americas Home Place House Construction
Cons
  • Poor workmanship
  • Did not fulfill expectations
  • Late delivery
Reason of review
Incorrect placement, Late, damaged, extra financial burden, shoddy workmanship, poor communication, misrepresentation
Loss
$75000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user Jul 14, 2021

MOLD!!! we have MOLD! This is the nice email I sent to the General Manger who once "lectured" me on how it's not nice to string out your dirty laundry ....uhm...THEN DO THE RIGHT THING!!!Lars to me: "Hi, I just left you house, I did leave the crawlspace door open to...

View full review
View full review
ID
#2670129 Review #2670129 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Pros
  • Interior design options
Cons
  • Continual shoddy repairs
  • Workmanship
  • Broken tub and squeaking shower floors
Preferred solution
Money for my time lost, frustration and to use for future repairs.

Unable to make contact with the company

I was having trouble with someone from this company returning my phone calls for a couple of weeks. After emailing Americas Home Place through this site someone notified me immediately. Thank you Pissedconsumer. Thank you Americas Home Place
View full review
ID
#2561661 Review #2561661 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Scottsboro, Alabama
New Reviewer

Leaking Roof in new home..and more.

Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
Americas Home Place - Leaking Roof in new home..and more.
My roof is leaking and my home is six month old. My floor creeks from a bad subfloor install. My tub has cracks. My drywall has cracks. My yard has a metal rod in it that won't budge. My back yard twists ankles due to the bad grading. It's the water issue that is most daunting as I hear it dripping while writing this. It's a new home...this should not be happening.

User's recommendation: No.

View full review
1 comment
#2035220

I now have Mold growing in my new home and it's from their air handler that is malfunctioning. The General Manger denies mold...but it is very clearly present in both sight and smell. I am mortified that ONCE AGAIN, I am having to fight them tooth /nail and educate them and PUSH for what is right...just do what is right!!

ID
#2477990 Review #2477990 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Service
Americas Home Place House Construction
Pros
  • Staff is friendly
  • Choosing what we wanted in our home
Cons
  • Workmanship
  • Bad follow through
  • Quality
Loss
$280000
Preferred solution
New roof, new subfloor installed properly, fix EVERYTHING and let me choose the contractors that fix it. Stop the floor creeks, have an engineer look at the area of house where drywall is splitting, grade backyard properly, remove metal pole, etc.

I just gave them a check to start our process and I am disheartened already.. I am seriously thinking of hiring an attorney to handle this transaction as I already feel this was a bad move on my part

ROur project manager reached out twice saying hed meet us at the location ONLY another to show both times and didnt even bother to notify me.

User's recommendation: Run.

View full review
2 comments
#2035221

Let me know your attorney. Maybe we can join together!

#2005961

04/23/21 this just happened to my husband and I this week

View more comments (1)
ID
#2465570 Review #2465570 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Update by user Feb 02, 2021

Contractor reached out and a resolution was reached. We both agreed to commit to diligently working together to complete construction timely and meet quality expectations.

Should this not be met I will revise my position.

The District Manager and I came to terms. The Project Manager has met my expectations since the beginning..

Original review posted by user Jan 27, 2021
***Just a sample of the experience thus far with AHP Valdosta, Ga.*** ***Individual Names removed and replaced with Titles*** Project Manager.....I just spoke with "District Manager". He obviously had talked with "Branch Manager" prior to calling me as he threw up the...
View full review
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2397541 Review #2397541 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Valdosta, Georgia
Service
Americas Home Place House Construction
Pros
  • Project manager
Cons
  • Everything but the project manager
Preferred solution
Provide the quality work expected, product expected and deliver in a timely manner. At minimum provide remedial training to the office and branch staff with the exception of the project manager.

Satisfied so far, but prepared for the long ride

I'm here just to wonder how my project will go... I'm sorry
View full review
1 comment
#1964406

Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns about your build. 1-800-New-Home or customerservice@americashomeplace.com

ID
#2336853 Review #2336853 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Moulton, Alabama
America's Home Place built our house 16 years ago in Columbia, Tennessee. After all this time, we still love our house! We have had no problems with the house at all and if we were to build another house, we wouldn't hesitate to use America's Home Place again. Before...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2035224

I find this terribly hard to believe since the same people who built your house built mine. Anyone reading this, be wary of these five star reviews....I wish I would have been.

View more comments
ID
#2333090 Review #2333090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbia, Tennessee
New Reviewer

None payment

We are in very hard times, trying to work in all this crap, these people are so ugly and refuse to pay for a wonderful services because they don't have a credit card. What kind of business would stiff a family own company trying to make it, in these hard times. The woman I spoke with was so rude and she was laughing about the fact she was not going to pay because we need a credit card for the first payment.

User's recommendation: run away!!

View full review
2 comments
#1961387

We have received your invoice and your payment is being processed.

#2035226
@AHP_Homes_Cares01

Sounds about right!

View more comments (1)
ID
#2327144 Review #2327144 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack up payment
Loss
$145
Preferred solution
My money!!

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Americas Home Place - Lying deceitful not honest very pushy
Update by user Sep 17, 2020

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with full refund. Would definitely not recommend this company to anybody!.

Update by user Aug 18, 2020

Rude lied to misrepresentation, unlawful getting sued, Very unhappy will never ever ever ever give your company a good review or references

Original review posted by user Aug 18, 2020
Contact me and I will supply information
View full review
View full review
6 comments
#2035227

Hey! Can you provide your lawyer?

We need help and are looking at lawyers now. It's a mess!

View more comments
Resolved
ID
#2123794 Review #2123794 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
French Broad, North Carolina
Service
Americas Home Place Customer Care
Pros
  • That we won our lawsuit
Cons
  • Misrepresentation
  • Length of time it took to build
  • Attitude of service manager
Loss
$999
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer
Update by user Sep 17, 2020

They gave me a full refund, They cost me an extra 132,000 that was to go towards my building of my home! forced to pay off land which was not agreement with land seller. Also promised to complete a built in 3 to 5 months when it came down to it they told me they...

View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1912750

Hi Brandi, we are sorry to hear that you haven't had the experience we would hope for. We have shared your reviews with Asheville's upper management on your behalf and hope that you will hear from them soon. In the meantime, feel free to contact us at customerservice@americashomeplace.com if you need further assistance.

ID
#2123785 Review #2123785 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Asheville, North Carolina
Service
Americas Home Place House Construction
Pros
  • Very unprofessional
  • Misleading and forceably pushing to sign contract
  • Called in the land owner of the people i was purchasing
Cons
  • Extremely late completion
  • Late delivery
  • Poor customer service
Loss
$132
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Leaking in attic plus unit has rusted plus no inspection sticker of being inspected.

Leaky attic rusty unit duct work is lousy. Look like the people installed the duct work were practicing.

User's recommendation: Hope other customers were not treated this way. Always do the right thing.

View full review
2 comments
#1916313

Unfortunately, other customers are treated this way. I guess it's oddly nice to know I'm not alone.

#1997328
@C D Daman

I have two leaks!! You're my twin and it sucks.

View more comments (1)
ID
#2013250 Review #2013250 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Quincy, Florida

Felt we were mistreated in trusting this company.

Air conditioner in attic never was installed correctly. Did not know this ducts and system was wrong. Never an inspect
View full review
1 comment
#1989136

IMO - A/C units should never be placed in the Attic!

ID
#2013225 Review #2013225 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Duct work is shabby. Leaks and too many feeds off in attic. No inspection sticker never attached.

Shabby duct work. We are older people didnt never go in attic. Have been having trouble with air conditioning unit and duct work. Several years trouble. Work does not look professional at all.
View full review
1 comment
#1916314

I am so sorry you had to go through this. We have had several issues we caught during the build and I often think of people like you who trusted this company and didn't find out till years later how they fooled you.

ID
#2010892 Review #2010892 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tallahassee, Florida
Preferred solution
Terrible air conditioner units and duct work.

Considering AHP

HMMMM, After reading these reviews I am thinking twice now.
View full review
3 comments
#1916315

Smart Thought. Don't do it unless you are prepared to use social media and lots of your own time and money to rectify issues or wait for them to resolve them.

#1920533
@C D Daman

Our issues were stayed and then addressed. We are now experiencin superior customer service and can't wait to move into our new home

#1921651
@C D Daman

We are building and are experiencing excellent craftsmanship now. The end product will be amazing.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1939586 Review #1939586 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

My Dream Home has become a NIGHTMARE!

The entire team at America's Home Place are committed to bringing the best possible outcome to their clients. We would highly recommend building with AHP! The whole team made building a great experience from the very start when we inquired with Ms. Sondra Thirston at the Gainesville, FL location. She was very attentive and informative which was especially helpful being first time home builders. We are still at pre-build stage, but have every confidence going forward to construction. The whole team is always available to answer any questions we have. I have no hesitation in recommending America’s Home Place to anyone considering building in the Greater Jacksonville, FL Area. We started this process in June 2019 and was given a verbal completion date of Christmas 2019. They are nearly five months behind on this property. We had to pay five extra months of rent. The review at the beginning of this one was mainly about AHP’s Gainesville front office staff, Ms. Sondra Thirston. She did an amazing job but the problems with AHP started once our build began. We thought we did our homework and researched the company in depth. We even visited a friend’s home built by AHP five years earlier. Her home is beautiful! She was very happy with her build. Communication with AHP has been very poor. From the beginning, we had issues with the Project Manager not showing up when he was supposed to. He would tell us that he would be at the house and wouldn’t show up until the next, at the earliest. We informed the General Manager of the PM’s neglect for our property, he assured us the Program Manager would complete the home before Christmas and he had complete confidence in his ability to do that. We continued to have problems with the PM but pressed on. We were never provided the spreadsheet that listed the completion date for our home. We were only given a verbal completion date of Christmas 2019. We’ve had problems throughout the construction phases. Our materials were left out in the elements. They used warp lumber among the other materials that was left out for months. We visited a couple of their other homes in the process of construction and one home in particular had all their materials on the inside of the home. I thought they would have an enclosed trailer to utilize until the home was structured enough to leave the materials indoors. This didn’t happen until much later in the build. There were large gaps and visible holes after the roof was completed. They used 2x4 to cover holes and gaps in the boards. They had plenty time to repair this properly but did a shoddy job. We have warped and wavy walls. They tried correcting it but it didn’t work. We fell in love with the cabinets from the showroom. They were the greysee stained cabinets. However, what we received wasn’t the stain we ordered. We explained the defect to AHP prior to the granite contractor arriving. However, AHP felt the cabinets were correct and had the granite contractor continue without changing the cabinets. Our kitchen is the focal point of our home and the cabinets are an unacceptable eye sore. Albeit functional, they are not what the builder and I contractually agreed on. The builder has offered compensation but only a portion for the cabinets. The subpar contractors they hired for our build were nasty, rude and disregarded our property. They left beer cans all over the property, they didn’t clean up, purposely left foot prints on base boards and paint on the siding of the house. The painters have been called out numerous times do to their lack of understanding that the paint will dry between coats. They didn't use the same amount of coats throughout the home. This caused splotches, uneven and discolored portions throughout the home. They had to be reminded to paint behind one of the bedroom doors; our master bedroom, closet and bathroom were two different colors. Some of the repairs are complete but others are not. We haven't signed off on the last draw of funds. They're only interested in getting the balance and are not concerned with the house being complete. Best part about our home is the granite. The granite contractor was respectful, neat and he did an amazing job! We are not happy with the workmanship/craftmanship of our new, custom America’s Home Place home. We are willing to sell it back to AHP, with the additional cost of our land. It was a tragic mistake on our part to trust and hire America’s Home Place to build our dream home. We have an unfinished product that has cost us almost $300k. We regret choosing America’s Home Place. At this very moment, the division president has travelled from Valdosta, GA to repair some items the Project Manager assured us were complete. I will add photos later today.

User's recommendation: Don't waste your sanity, time or money with this builder.

View full review
3 comments
#1989137

This level of mismanagement should be criminal - I am thinking about AHP but the overwhelming negative reviews suggest they need to leave the industry.

#1916317

This review is super confusing. You recommend them but don't?

#1882947

Thank you for this review. I am interested in seeing those photos.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1911420 Review #1911420 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Gainesville, Florida
Service
Americas Home Place House Construction
Pros
  • Granite contractor
Cons
  • Some of the quality of finishes
  • Too many to list
  • Poor workmanship
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article